Dick’s Law: Refusal to Wear Face Mask in New Jersey Could Lead to 30 Days in Jail

//
3 mins read

TRENTON, NJ – The New Jersey crazy train is continuing off the rails this week as Democrat Senator Richard “Dick” Cody’s absurd bill is gaining traction in the New Jersey Senate.  New Jersey Senate Bill S814 will make a failure to wear a face mask upon entry into a store with posted signage trespass offense during a period of public emergency declared by Governor in Executive Order 103 of 2020 a crime, punishable by jail.

Under Dick’s Law, during the public health emergency and state of emergency declared by the Governor in Executive Order 103 of 2020, a person commits a petty disorderly persons offense if, knowing that he is not licensed or privileged to do so, he enters or remains in a store or mercantile retail establishment as to which notice against trespass is given by signage posted that is visible and unobstructed which requires that any person entering the premises of a store or retail mercantile establishment must be wearing a mask and a person does not wear a mask.

This act shall take effect immediately and shall expire upon the expiration of the state of emergency declared by the Governor in Executive Order 103 of 2020.

“This bill provides that during the public health emergency and state of emergency declared by the Governor in Executive Order 103 of 2020, a person commits a petty disorderly person offense,” Codey said about “Dick’s Law” “If, knowing that he is not licensed or privileged to do so, he enters or remains in a store or mercantile retail establishment as to which notice against trespass is given by signage that is visible and unobstructed which requires that any person entering the premises of a store or retail mercantile establishment must be wearing a mask is posted and a person does not wear a mask.”

A petty disorderly persons offense is punishable by up to 30 days imprisonment, a fine of up to $500, or both.

Related News:  Man Charged for October Murder in Buffalo

A hearing on Dick’s Law is scheduled for October 22nd at 11 am in Trenton. In September, the bill made its way out of the Assembly committee on a second reading as it draws closer to the desk of Governor Phil Murphy to enact into law.

Photo by Matthew Ansley on Unsplash

Visit Shore News Network on Parler, Facebook and Twitter to comment @ShoreNewsNJ

Previous Story

4th Grader’s Family in a “Legal Abyss” After Being Suspended for Having BB Gun During Virtual Class

Next Story

Florida Deputy Performed Exorcism on Child, Heavily Armed the Other

Latest from Blog