2017 Jackson Fire Election Results

On Saturday, January 18th, Jackson residents voted for their new fire district commissioners and fire district budgets.
In Jackson Fire District 2 (Consolidated 1&2), Marty Flemming and Robert Reddington, Jr. won 3 year seats and John Ryan won an unexpired one year term. A strong showing by lifetime resident and community volunteer John Alchevsky fell short.
Voters approved the district budget

In Jackson Fire District 3, Jackson police office John Seidler won his election against Vincent Nicosia and the district approved the budget.
In Jackson Fire District 4, voters came out to support Wallace Jameson and Ray Torres. Suffering defeats were Jackson Township’s building department head, Barry Olejarz and fire sub-code official, incumbent Ken Byrnes. Brian Ruditsky, a local volunteer firefighter and police officer also lost his bid in the most hotly contested race in the township where district voters voiced their opposition to the political and township establishment candidates.
Voters approved the fire district’s operating budget.
Jackson is broken into three fire districts. Fire districts 2, 3 and 4. Each fire district is independently operated.
After the consolidation of fire districts one and two into fire disctict two, commissioners are now chosen to manage the new consolidated district.
Jackson’s fire districts can seem confusing but if you visit your local fire district website or Facebook page, each provides information on stations in their district and district maps so you can see which district you reside in. All fire districts coordinate with each other during fires and other emergencies.

Photo by Jackson Fire District 3.

Attributions in this article: Map data ©2019 Google, Photo © BigStock Photos. Hand out photos courtesy of reporting agency. Press releases are the intellectual property of the issuing agency or corporation. Please report any photo, copyright or intellectual property violations to news@shorewsnetwork.com.

Latest from Police Blotter