Murphy See Murphy Do, New Jersey, Adds More States to Quarantine, Following New York

TRENTON, NJ –  With a rise in COVID-19 tests nationwide, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo this morning raised the state’s mandatory quarantine requirement to 16 states.  California, Georgia, Iowa, Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee were the new states added.   Previously, the ordered covered Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas.

New Jersey has a similar quarantine, but unlike New York, it’s not enforceable or mandatory.

Later in the day, as has been the case since the start of the COVID-19 quarantine, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy followed the lead of Cuomo and New York State, adding those states to his own quarantine.

“Visitors to NJ from the following states are advised to observe at 14-day self-quarantine period,” Murph said as he released the identical list released earlier by Cuomo.


Attributions in this article: Map data ©2019 Google, Photo © BigStock Photos. Hand out photos courtesy of reporting agency. Press releases are the intellectual property of the issuing agency or corporation. Please report any photo, copyright or intellectual property violations to

Latest from New Jersey News