Delaware Governor Carney Announces Curfew, Business Restrictions, Stay at Home Advisory

////
Stock Photo - Empty restaurant by Drew Beamer

WILMINGTON, DE – When the clock strikes 10 p.m. in Delaware, residents must return to their homes starting on Monday, December 14th.  That is when the deadly COVID-19 virus is expected to do the most damage in the state, according to absolutely no medical research or study.  But still, Governor John Carney said staying in your home after 10 p.m. will help Delaware stop the second wave of COVID-19 currently plaguing the state, despite all best efforts put forth by the Governor and residents since the pandemic began in March.

At 10 p.m. on Monday, restaurants, and bars must close for the evening according to Carney’s latest executive order. According to the order, Delawareans are strongly advised to stay at home and not to gather with anyone outside their household from December 14-January 11 to reduce the dangerous surge of COVID-19 cases and hospitalizations. Also, Delawareans and visitors must wear masks anytime they are indoors with anyone outside of their household.

“These additional restrictions are intended to protect Delaware’s hospital capacity and protect lives this winter,” said Governor Carney. “Health care workers are on the job around the clock, caring for the sick. We all need to follow their lead and do our part to protect others. Don’t gather with anyone outside of your household. Any interaction is riskier when community spread is at current levels. Wear a mask whenever you’re around someone outside your household – even if they’re family or friends. Wash or sanitize your hands frequently. COVID-19 can cause serious illness and worse, especially for our most vulnerable friends, family members, and neighbors. Please take this seriously.”


Governor Carney and the Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) also on Thursday announced a zero-tolerance enforcement policy for businesses during the Stay-at-Home advisory. The first violation of COVID-19 restrictions will result in an immediate civil fine. A second violation will result in closure until the establishment submits a reopening plan approved by DPH.

Restaurants will remain at 30 percent capacity but must have signage prominently displayed on the table stating that parties must be from the same household. Restaurants also must share messaging on masking compliance. Governor Carney’s fourth revision caps mall food courts at 20 percent of stated fire capacity, or 100 people, whichever is smaller.

Attributions in this article: Map data ©2019 Google, Photo © BigStock Photos. Hand out photos courtesy of reporting agency. Press releases are the intellectual property of the issuing agency or corporation. Please report any photo, copyright or intellectual property violations to news@shorewsnetwork.com.