WILMINGTON, DE – If you’re a small business owner operating a bar or restaurant in Delaware and think you can cut corners when it comes to the latest executive order issued by Governor John Carney, think again. C’ gon give it to ya. Carney warned Delaware restaurant owners they will be fined and their business will be shut down and bogged down by government red tape in order to reopen if they get caught.
Carney’s actions follow that of neighboring New Jersey, where Governor Phil Murphy deployed his state agents to inspect thousands of bars over the past few weeks to issue fines and violations.
“Governor Carney and the Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) also on Thursday announced a zero-tolerance enforcement policy for businesses during the Stay-at-Home advisory,” the state said in a statement. “A first violation of COVID-19 restrictions will result in an immediate civil fine. A second violation will result in closure, until the establishment submits a reopening plan approved by DPH.””\
Restaurants will remain at 30 percent capacity, but must have signage prominently displayed on the table stating that parties must be from the same household. Restaurants also must share messaging on masking compliance. Governor Carney’s fourth revision caps mall food courts at 20 percent of stated fire capacity, or 100 people, whichever is smaller.
This week Carney amended his executive order to include a 10 p.m. curfew for bars and restaurants and the following new capacity restrictions:
- Businesses above 100,000 square feet are limited to 20 percent of stated fire capacity.
- All other businesses, including most retail stores and all restaurants, are limited to 30 percent of stated fire capacity.
- Retail below 5,000 square feet, all Houses of Worship, and funeral services are limited to 40 percent of stated fire capacity.
- A 10 p.m. curfew will be imposed at Delaware restaurants and bars. **Restaurants can deliver past 10 p.m.
- Exercise classes at gyms are limited to 10 people and individuals who are not part of the same household must remain at least 13 feet apart during classes.
- Indoor gatherings at businesses or indoor spaces open to the public must be limited to the lesser of 30 percent of the venue’s stated fire capacity, or 10 people.
If your business is harassed by the state, drop us a line, firstname.lastname@example.org, we’d love to hear from you.