New Jersey News

Local Legislators Oppose Murphy’s New Gas Tax Hike

TRENTON-Senator Christopher J. Connors, Assemblyman Brian E. Rumpf and Assemblywoman DiAnne C. Gove, who vehemently opposed and voted against the 23-cent per gallon increase in the gas tax passed in 2016, released the following statement on the Murphy Administration’s recent announcement that gas tax will increase another 4.3 cents per gallon beginning October 1.

“Despite the financial hardships this regressive gas tax increase will impose, particularly on middle class families and seniors, no one should be surprised the revenue-starved state is reaching further into taxpayers’ pockets. Without hesitation, our Delegation broke with former Governor Christie by opposing the original 23-cent per gallon tax increase, because we knew that our constituency would be disproportionately impacted.

Related News:  Antojito's Restaurant Owners in Irvington Receive Violations for Opening Bar in Violation of Murphy's Law

“Our Delegation remains consistent in our opposition, regardless of the New Jersey Department of Treasury’s decision to support a tax increase based on a review of fuel consumption levels.This is due to the fact that we proudly represent a commuting constituency with a large senior population. With little to no access to mass transit, our constituents primarily rely on the Garden State Parkway as a means of commuting on which, adding insult to injury, drivers are still paying the Corzine toll hikes that were deliberately targeted at our area of the state.

Related News:  How Quickly Flattening The Curve Has Turned into Socialism in New Jersey

“When will Trenton finally recognize that too many residents are simply unable to afford to live in this overtaxed state? It goes without saying that we stand with the overwhelming majority of our constituents who opposed the original gas tax increase and are equally infuriated with the soon-to-be imposed tax increase.”

To Top