New Jersey News

Murphy See, Murphy Do, Follows New York, Adds 4 More States to Self-Quarantine

TRENTON, NJ – We called it earlier today. Governor Murphy followed the lead of New York Governor Cuomo and added four more states to the self-quarantine list.

Governor Murphy today advised individuals traveling to New Jersey from additional states with significant community spread of COVID-19 to quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state. The updated advisory includes four additional states – Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio, and Wisconsin – with Delaware removed from the list. The travel advisory applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

Related News:  Kanye West on the Ballot for Presidential Election in New Jersey

As of Tuesday, July 14, there are currently 22 states total that meet the criteria stated above: Alabama; Arkansas; Arizona; California; Florida; Georgia; Iowa; Idaho; Kansas; Louisiana; Minnesota; Mississippi; North Carolina; New Mexico; Nevada; Ohio; Oklahoma; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; and Wisconsin.

“We must remain vigilant and committed to our collective effort of beating COVID-19 and reducing the rate of transmission throughout New Jersey,” said Governor Murphy. “In order to continue moving forward with New Jersey’s restart and recovery process, I strongly urge individuals arriving from these 22 states to self-quarantine and proactively get a COVID-19 test to prevent hotspots from flaring up across our state.”

Travelers and those residents who are returning from impacted states should self-quarantine at their home, hotel, or other temporary lodging. Individuals should leave the place of self-quarantine only to seek medical care/treatment or to obtain food and other essential items.

Related News:  Trump Announces Pfizer Deal, 600 Million Doses of "China Virus" Vaccine

It is expected that individuals will follow the public health advisory to self-quarantine. The list of states will be updated on a rolling basis and is accessible here.

Photo – screen capture, NBC Today where Murphy first hinted at quarantines for out-of-state travelers.

Top comments about this post on Facebook.

To Top