Murphy signs new mask mandate requiring children as young as 2 years old to wear facemasks in school

1 min read

TRENTON, NJ – New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy has signed another executive order requiring New Jersey residents to wear face masks. This time, Murphy has ordered that all children 2 years old or above attending child care and daycare facilities must be masked up.

He’s also requiring workers at those facilities to get vaccinated by November 1st.

“All child care workers and facility employees be full vaccinated by November 1st or face weekly testing,” Murphy said. “Effective September 24th, all employees, students, and visitors must wear facemasks.”

Violating executive orders can be punished criminally according to state law.

“Violations are tried in the Municipal Court of the municipality where the violation has occurred. These “Disorderly Person Offenses” impose penalties for a conviction of up to six months in jail and a fine of $1,000.00,” the Wilentz Law Firm states.